Reinventing the Steel (20th Anniversary Edition) (Vinyl)


Notify me when this product is available:

Pantera’s final opus, Reinventing The Steel, represented a recommitment to everything the band loved about heavy metal. Released in 2000 at the peak of nu-metal’s popularity, the album’s back-to-basics approach flew in the face of the trend and served as a potent reminder of the enduring power of primal metal. Pantera’s swan song turns 20 this year and Rhino will celebrate with two new versions that feature an unreleased mix of the album by longtime producer Terry Date.

The first is REINVENTING THE STEEL: 20th ANNIVERSARY EDITION, a three-CD set that includes a newly remastered version of the original album and a selection of rarities. A major highlight is the new mix by Terry Date, the legendary producer who was behind the console for the band’s previous four landmark albums: Cowboys from Hell (1990), Vulgar Display of Power (1992), Far Beyond Driven (1994) and The Great Southern Trendkill (1996). The set will be released on October 30. Three of Date’s new mixes (“Revolution Is My Name,” “Death Rattle,” and “We’ll Grind That Axe For A Long Time”) are available today digitally. 

REINVENTING THE STEEL: 20th ANNIVERSARY EDITION will also be released as a double-LP set on silver vinyl that features the new Terry Date mix on one album, plus eight rare bonus tracks making their vinyl debut on the other. Limited to 5,000 copies, the 180-gram audiophile vinyl collection comes in an embossed, foil jacket and will be available on January 8.


LP One: New Terry Date Mix

Side One

  1. “Hellbound”
  2. “Goddamn Electric”
  3. “Yesterday Don’t Mean Shit”
  4. “You’ve Got To Belong To It”
  5. “Revolution Is My Name”

Side Two

  1. “Death Rattle”
  2. “We’ll Grind That Axe For A Long Time”
  3. “Uplift”
  4. “It Makes Them Disappear”
  5. “I’ll Cast A Shadow”

LP Two: Bonus Tracks

Side One

  1. “Avoid The Light”
  2. “Immortally Insane”
  3. “Cat Scratch Fever”
  4. “Hole In The Sky”

Side Two

  1. “Electric Funeral”
  2. “Goddamn Electric” – Radio Mix
  3. “Revolution Is My Name” – Radio Edit
  4. “I’ll Cast A Shadow” – Radio Edit

 * previously unreleased

    Related Items