Fire From The Evening Sun (2LP)


­NOTE: This item is not eligible for discounts/sales.
RELEASE DATE: 9th October, 2015

PHILM, the temperamental, highly gifted brainchild of Dave Lombardo certainly did not come to fruition overnight. Years of life lessons and rhythmical adventures slowly molded and manipulated his latest creation for the musical misfits of the world.
Front-man Gerry Nestler, noted for his undeniable skill and rapport with his guitar, is best known for his work with progmetallists, Civil Defiance. Nestler describes PHILMs music as, “Heavy but sensitive, powerful and atmospheric.” He further elaborated, saying “. "The music of PHILM is channeled through the many different influences of drum and bass, expressionism, and underground that is indigenous to the street," Nestler states. "There are many different things that Dave and I have been into that have contributed to the vision of PHILM. Pancho's highly skilled bass playing, chordal color and shape have helped expand the overall sound instrumentation and groove. Dave Lombardo's drumming goes without comparison."
Bassist, Pancho Tomaselli, a long-time member of funk rockers, War and most recently, Tower of Power is sought after for his aggressively malleable, yet smooth way around his bass guitar.
Drummer, Dave Lombardo, is most widely known for his legendary work with a band he co-developed at the young age of 17, SLAYER. His work with Mike Patton (Fantomas), John Zorn (Bladerunner), Grip Inc., and many others, leaves no room for questioning his legendary status as one of the most skilled and innovative drummers in the world. Justifiably typecast to the genre he helped trail-blaze, it is certainly a shock to Lombardo enthusiasts to see his infamous drum set now scaled down to a four piece kit. But, the depth of his musical aptitude is much more than what has come to be known as his signature sound. His prodigious skill and affinity for heavy, penetrating grooves is oddly taken to another level in his work with this riveting trio. To quote Tomaselli, “It’s like playing with the seven, not four, horses of the Apocalypse behind you.”


  1. Train
  2. Fire From The Evening Sun
  3. Lady Of The Lake
  4. Lion's Pit
  5. Silver Queen
  6. We Sail At Dawn
  7. Omniscience
  8. Fanboy
  9. Luxhaven
  10. Blue Dragon
  11. Turn In The Sky
  12. Corner Girl

NOTE: Album is released on October 9th, 2015 . Your order will ship with intention to arrive on release day. It is recommended that if you wish to purchase other products, you do so in a separate order as all items placed alongside this order will ship with this order. Any orders placed after October 1st risk late delivery.

* Mockups are not actual representations of preorder items - Actual items may vary.
* Shipping date subject to change.

Related Items