Like A House On Fire (CD)

Asking Alexandria

The rockiest road reaps the richest rewards.
It also makes for the best stories…

Since 2008, Asking Alexandria have paved a path of their own, distilling danger and excess into an equally dangerous hybrid of stadium rock ambition, metallic energy, and electronic ecstasy. Against all odds, they achieved unprecedented success earmarked by two gold-certified singles (namely, “Final Episode (Let’s Change The Channel)” and “Not The American Average”), over a billion cumulative streams and views, and three consecutive top 10 debuts on the Billboard Top 200—Reckless & Relentless [2011], From Death to Destiny [2013], and The Black [2016]. In addition to headlining packed gigs on five continents, they destroyed stages alongside Guns N’ Roses, Green Day, Avenged Sevenfold, Alice In Chains, and Slipknot, to name a few.

Meanwhile, 2017’s self-titled Asking Alexandria spawned two of the group’s biggest singles to date: “Alone In A Room” and “Into the Fire”.

Fanning the flame like never before, the quintet—Ben Bruce [guitar, backing vocals], Danny Worsnop [lead vocals], James Cassells [drums], Cameron Liddell [guitar], and Sam Bettley [bass]—burn even brighter on their 2020 sixth full-length, Like A House On Fire [Sumerian Records].

The opening track “House On Fire” introduces this chapter with a bang. Worsnop struts through stark verses towards a swaggering bridge. A sweeping and soaring chant takes hold on the chorus as guitars rage in the background.
“Instead of dwelling on the past, the song is about what we’ve got going on now and what we’re sharing,” Ben Bruce [guitarist] continues. “This band is getting on like a house on fire right now. The album is the most fun we’ve had since Stand Up and Scream. We’re at the top of our game. Greatness arises from the ashes. This is a self-realization. We’ve had ups and downs. We could’ve ruined everything with drugs. We had nowhere to go but rebuild. It’s a reminder not to get in your own way, believe in yourself, and follow your own path.”

Track listing

Side A
1. House On Fire / 2. They Don't Want What We Want (And They Don't Care) / 3. Down To Hell / 4. Antisocialist / 5. I Don't Need You / 6. All Due Respect / 7. Take Some Time / 8. One Turns To None

Side B
1. It's Not Me (It's You) / 2. Here's To Starting Over / 3. What's Gonna Be / 4. Give You Up / 5. In My Blood / 6. The Violence / 7. Lorazepam

Release date: 26th June, 2020

Related Items